Skip to main content

Updating the blob

Heh, I bet you thought I made a mistake and meant to write "updating the BLOG," didn't you? Nope, I really did mean "blob."

Those of you who were captive readers about a year-and-a-half ago, know that I have written about the blob before. And you know that the term has nothing to do with the 1950s horror movie or its remake. But since I used the poster for the original movie on the last post, I might as well update things here with the '80s remake.

What "the blob" refers to is our childhood term for the player who makes the last out of baseball game. That player is The Blob.

In that original post, I referred to the Ultimate Blob. The "UB" is the player who makes the final out in the World Series. The original post then featured a rundown of all of the players who have suffered that horrible fate.

Two World Series have gone by since that post, and I think it's time to rerun the list with the two most recent players who are now doomed to immortal Blobdom. They have been enveloped by The Ultimate Blob.

(EDIT: I've added the Ultimate Blobs for the six World Series that have happened since this post)

Here it is:

2016: Michael Martinez, Indians
2015: Wilmer Flores, Mets
2014: Salvador Perez, Royals
2013: Matt Carpenter, Cardinals
2012: Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
2011: David Murphy, Rangers

2010: Nelson Cruz, Rangers
2009: Shane Victorino, Phillies
2008: Eric Hinske, Rays
2007: Seth Smith, Rockies
2006: Brandon Inge, Tigers
2005: Orlando Palmeiro, Astros
2004: Edgar Renteria, Cardinals
2003: Jorge Posada, Yankees
2002: Kenny Lofton, Giants
2001: none

2000: Mike Piazza, Mets
1999: Keith Lockhart, Braves
1998: Mike Sweeney, Padres
1997: none
1996: Mark Lemke, Braves
1995: Carlos Baerga, Indians
1994: no series
1993: none
1992: Otis Nixon
1991: none

1990: Carney Lansford, A's
1989: Brett Butler, Giants
1988: Tony Phillips, A's
1987: Willie McGee, Cardinals
1986: Marty Barrett, Red Sox
1985: Andy VanSlyke, Cardinals
1984: Tony Gwynn, Padres
1983: Garry Maddox, Phillies
1982: Gorman Thomas, Brewers
1981: Bob Watson, Yankees

1980: Willie Wilson, Royals
1979: Pat Kelly, Orioles
1978: Ron Cey, Dodgers
1977: Lee Lacy, Dodgers
1976: Roy White, Yankees
1975: Carl Yastrzemski, Red Sox
1974: Von Joshua, Dodgers
1973: Wayne Garrett, Mets
1972: Pete Rose, Reds
1971: Merv Rettenmund, Orioles

1970: Pat Corrales, Reds
1969: Davey Johnson, Orioles
1968: Tim McCarver, Cardinals
1967: George Scott, Red Sox
1966: Lou Johnson, Dodgers
1965: Bob Allison, Twins
1964: Bobby Richardson, Yankees
1963: Hector Lopez, Yankees
1962: Willie McCovey, Giants
1961: Vada Pinson, Reds

1960: none
1959: Luis Aparacio, White Sox
1958: Red Schoendienst, Braves
1957: Moose Skowron, Yankees
1956: Jackie Robinson, Dodgers
1955: Elston Howard, Yankees
1954: Dale Mitchell, Indians
1953: none
1952: Pee Wee Reese, Dodgers
1951: Sal Yvars, Giants

1950: Stan Lopata, Phillies
1949: Gil Hodges, Dodgers
1948: Tommy Holmes, Braves
1947: Bruce Edwards, Dodgers
1946: Tom McBride, Red Sox
1945: Don Johnson, Cubs
1944: Mike Chartak, Browns
1943: Debs Garms, Cardinals
1942: George Selkirk, Yankees
1941: Jimmy Wasdell, Dodgers

1940: Earl Averill, Tigers
1939: Wally Berger, Reds
1938: Billy Herman, Cubs
1937: Jo-Jo Moore, Giants
1936: Harry Danning, Giants
1935: none
1934: Mickey Owen, Tigers
1933: Joe Kuhel, Senators
1932: Riggs Stephenson, Cubs
1931: Max Bishop, A's

1930: Jimmy Wilson, Cardinals
1929: none
1928: Frankie Frisch, Cardinals
1927: none
1926: Babe Ruth (caught stealing)
1925: Goose Goslin, Senators
1924: none
1923: Jack Bentley, Giants
1922: Aaron Ward, Giants
1921: Ed Konetchy, Robins (Dodgers)

1919: Shoeless Joe Jackson, White Sox
1918: Les Mann, Cubs
1917: Lew McCarty, Giants
1916: Mike Mowrey, Robins (Dodgers)
1915: Bill Killefer, Phillies
1914: Stuffy McInnis, A's
1913: Larry Doyle Giants
1912: none
1911: Art "Dutch" Wilson, Giants

1910: Johnny Kling, Cubs
1909: Tom Jones, Tigers
1908: Boss Schmidt, Tigers
1907: Boss Schmidt, Tigers
1906: Frank "Wildfire" Schulte, Cubs
1905: Lave Cross, A's
1904: no series
1903: Honus Wagner, Pirates

There are more details to this phenomenon -- such as why there were no blobs in certain World Series -- but I already covered that in the previous post.

Actually, the only reason I brought this up again is because of this player:

There are certain players that I'm half-convinced have made a deal with the devil to have the fortune that they do. Most of the time, those players are on the Yankees. This time, it's a Giants player.

I mentioned on the previous blob post that Edgar Renteria was the only player in major league history to get both the game-winning hit to decide a World Series (1997) and record the last out in a World Series (2004). He's been both the ultimate hero and the ultimate blob.

But now, he is the only player to get the series-winning hit in TWO World Series and record the last out in a World Series. And he's done all this with three different teams. It's as if that Ultimate Blob thing had never happened. I'd say Renteria is channeling Lonnie Smith, but to the best of my knowledge, Lonnie Smith is still alive and kicking. And even he didn't have THAT kind of success in the World Series.

Very weird.

Anyway, there's the update. I may put these blob posts on the sidebar. You probably have noticed that I actually have updated the blog a little and finally put up some tabs at the top of the blog. I sure need them with all the features I like to do (I've really got to cut back).

Some of the tabs are unfinished, but I'll get to them. If you have any suggestions or questions, let me know.

It may be the offseason now, but I've got lots of baseball in me head. No matter how trivial it might be.


Nachos Grande said…
Love the tabs...would love to know how to do something similar for my blog too!
Hey, I read your last post and I thought there wasn't a 2010 World Series! I do like the tabs. It's a nice touch.
The Big Kahuna said…
You mention the 80's movie "the blob" and I get warm and fuzzy just thinking of SHAWNEE I had a crush on her! I was happy to see her boyfriend get eaten!
Jason Presley said…
Wow, looking down the list of UB's, my first thought is "why was Tony Phillips even in the A's lineup in the last game of the 1988 World Series?" They seriously didn't have anyone better to send up there? Maybe that's why they traded to get Rickey back. Rickey ain't no blob.